Databases
Databases are organized collections of data. Conducting research on databases allows students to access many different types of information that in most cases have been published and checked for accuracy. To access databases remotely use your D219 username and password to sign in.
- EBSCO Diversity and Ethnic Studies eBooks This link opens in a new windowThis groundbreaking collection includes thousands of high-quality e-books assessed by EBSCO Collection Development Librarians on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion.
- EBSCO Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new windowThis full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowCollection of encyclopedias and reference materials (ebooks)
- Gale in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events
- EBSCO Academic Search Premiere This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Premier includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 6,136 active global OA journals. Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.
Print Resources
Check the Niles North Library catalog for print resources.
New York Times Digital Subscription
Please follow the link for instructions on access to The New York Times Digital Subscription.
Ask a Librarian
Public Libraries
- Skokie Public Library Database ListUse your Skokie Public Library Card number to gain access to their databases off-site. Helpful databases for this project include:
LexisNexis
Mergent Web Reports - Morton Grove Public Library Database ListUse your Morton Grove Public Library Card number to gain access to their databases off-site. Helpful databases for this project include:
Papers First
SIRS Researcher
Tips for Researching
- If you have a questions - ask them! Ms. Zbinden is always available to answer research questions.
- Using the databases we covered in class is important. They offer good information and will create citations for your sources.
- Use books if they apply to your topic. If you don't know how to find them ask Ms. Zbinden or one of the Library staff members.
- If you use the Internet for information, make sure you review the tips for deciding if the information is valid - see the "Evaluating Sources" tab.