Assignment
Choose a person and explain how they are/were a leader through the lens of Campbell’s characteristics of great leaders and the impact (legacy or criticism) of their leadership. Use a variety of sources and write an essay in MLA format wherein you discuss their background, contributions and criticism. Use the definition(s) of leadership characteristics in “Great Leaders Grow Deep Roots.”
Helpful Databases
Databases are organized collections of data. Conducting research on databases allows students to access many different types of information that in most cases have been published and checked for accuracy. To access databases remotely use your D219 username and password to sign in.
- Gale Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowReference, periodical, and multimedia biographical resources
- Gale U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on people, places, events, and topics in U.S. History
- Gale World History in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on people, events, and topics in World History
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowArchive coverage for the Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender and Hartford Courant 1765 - 1984
- Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new windowThree levels of encyclopedias plus extended web and periodical coverage
Skokie Public Library Databases
- Skokie Public Library DatabasesUse your SPL card to gain access to Skokie Public Library Databases.
Print Resources
Check the Niles North Library catalog for print resources.
Tips for Researching
- If you have a questions - ask them! Ms. Zbinden is always available to answer research questions.
- Using the databases we covered in class is important. They offer good information and will create citations for your sources.
- Use books if they apply to your topic. If you don't know how to find them ask Ms. Zbinden or one of the Library staff members.
- If you use the Internet for information, make sure you review the tips for deciding if the information is valid - see the "Evaluating Sources" tab.
New York Times Digital Subscription
Please follow the link for instructions on access to The New York Times Digital Subscription.
Ask a Librarian
