Search Terms
China and ____________ (use keywords like the ones below)
energy
education
women
poverty
inequality
environment
pollution (air, water, land)
child labor
human rights
Tibet (Dalai Lama, Tibetan, Tibetan Plateau, Lhasa, Buddhism)
Japan (WWII, Rape of Nanking, East China Sea)
one child policy (birth planning, overpopulation, abortion)
Taiwan ("anti-secession law", recognition, Democracy)
xinjiang
Three Gorges Dam
economy (capitalism, trade, industry, industrial, market economy, Hong Kong)
Accessing Databases from Home
If you are at home, click on the Niles North database link below, select the database you'd like to use, and enter your student login for access.
Find information on IRC Databases
- Gale Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new windowFind information on current global issues. Use the search terms in the box to the left.
- CultureGrams: ChinaFrom the CultureGrams database.
Use the Password Document link above to open this article at home. - Britannica (Higher Level): ChinaFrom the Britannica Encyclopedia database.
Use the Password Document link above to open this article at home. - Britannica (Medium Level): ChinaMedium level article from Britannica Encyclopedia database.
Use the Password Document link above to open this article at home. - World Book: ChinaArticle from the World Book Encyclopedia database.
Use the Password Document link above to open this article at home. - World GeographyArticle from the World Geography Database. Use the Password Document link above to open the article from home.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowInformation and opinions on current social issues. Make sure you are looking at both sides of an issue.
Additional Helpful Websites
- New York Times - TopicA New York Times topic page on China.
- The GuardianA Guardian topic page on China.
- The Telegraph - China Topic PageA topic page from The Telegraph, a United Kingdom news source.