“Death may beget life, but oppression can beget nothing other than itself.”
― Charles Dickens, A Tale of Two Cities
Helpful Websites / Articles
- 1700s EnglandSource from the British Library
- "Use and Abuse of the Dead"Resurrection Men
- 15 Things You Might Not Know About the BastilleArticle from Mental Floss
- The Figure of the GovernessBritish Library - includes a primary source about wages.
- Foundlings, orphans and unmarried mothersSource from the British Library
- Foundling HospitalBBC News
- American and European Medicine in the 18th CenturyJSTOR article
- Women in the French Revolution: From the Salons to the StreetsLibrary of Congress article
- Daily Life During the French RevolutionBook Source
- GENDER AND THE SHIFTING GROUND OF REVOLUTIONARY POLITICS: THE CASE OF MADAME ROLANDGale U.S. History in Context article
Database Resources
Use the databases for : third estate, foundling hospital (orphanages), French spies, The French Revolution, Versailles
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowCollection of encyclopedias and reference materials (ebooks)
- Gale World History in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on people, events, and topics in World History
- Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new windowThree levels of encyclopedias plus extended web and periodical coverage
- Gale Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowReference, periodical, and multimedia biographical resources
A section of the beehive of British society, with fifty-four cells, a base and nine layers representing the classes and trades; the royalty at the top; the bank, armed services and volunteers as the foundation; the crown on top, the royal standard to l, the union jack to r. 1867; etched and altered from a design of 1840 Etching
Created by George Cruikshank
Print Resources
Please check the class cart for these and other print resources.
Understanding a Tale of Two Cities by Call Number: 823.8 NEWISBN: 9780313299391Publication Date: 1998-10-23
The French Revolution by Call Number: 944 CONISBN: 1403409730Publication Date: 2003-03-26
