Of Mice and Men Annotated Bibliography: Day #2

1. Access the Historical Newspapers database in box to the left.. Select the Chicago Tribune Historical Newspaper from the three offerings.

2. Search on the key words "dust storms". On the left, narrow the search to a specific decade (1930-40). Locate the article: Plains States Begin Cleanup as Dust Abates: Clouds Move Out to Sea Across South. --Southwest Digs Out of Dust; Clouds Pass Over Atlantic. Click on "Cite. Change the citation format to MLA 8th Edition. Copy the citation.

3. Return to your NoodleTools bibliography. Select +Create New Citation. Choose Database. Select Newspaper Article. Click on "quick cite" and paste your copied citation into the box. This article's title is written in all capital letters. You must change this so that only the first word of the the title and subsequent proper nouns are capitalized. Once you have made the changes, save your citation.

4. Read the article. Return to NoodleTools, click on "Options" in your citation, and choose edit annotation.  Write your annotation. When you have entered the information, click  "Save and Close".

1. Use the databases (U.S. History in Context or Historical Newspapers) to find an additional two articles on the Great Depression, Migrant Farm Workers, or both (Avoid selecting the first result. It is not always the best). Create an annotated citation for each article.

2. Your completed assignment should be an annotated bibliography of four sources. Please look at the sample annotated bibliography in the column to the right of this box.

1. Once you have all four citations and annotations in your project you can export your document to Google Docs. Click on the "Print/Export" option in the upper left hand corner of the NoodleTools Page. Select Print/Export to GoogleDocs. The document will automatically open in GoogleDocs. 
2. YOU MUST MAKE ONE CHANGE! The document will automatically be titled as a Works Cited page. You must change the title to Annotated Bibliography. Once you have made this change you can add your name and period to the top of the doc and print or share the doc with your teacher. Do not change fonts or font sizes.
3. Once your assignment is complete, log on to Turnitin.com and submit the paper to your teacher. Please see your individual teacher for log on information.

Learning Target: Students will create an annotated bibliography using online databases and a web-based citation maker.

Information Literacy Skills:
Students will:

• Learn to access information on multiple databases
• Learn how to construct an annotated bibliography
• Learn about reliable sources of information
• Learn how to construct citations
• Learn how to submit a document to Turnitin.com