Reasons for Creating an Annotated Bibliography
An annotated bibliography allows you to:
- Explain the main points of the source
- Comment on the worth, effectiveness, and usefulness of the work pertaining to your specific research or topic
- Analyze the point of view and findings of the source
- Link to or make connections between sources and your research or topic
* Information borrowed from UNC Greensboro
Helpful Databases
Use Culturegrams and Gale World History for country information (colonization, decolonization).
-
CultureGrams This link opens in a new windowGeopolitical and cultural information on countries, U.S. states, and Canadian provinces
-
Gale World History in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on people, events, and topics in World History
-
Gale Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowReference, periodical, and multimedia biographical resources
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowCollection of encyclopedias and reference materials (ebooks)
-
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new windowThree levels of encyclopedias plus extended web and periodical coverage
-
EBSCOhost Research Databases This link opens in a new windowThe Explora interface searches all 57 EBSCO databases at once.
Helpful Country Information
The following links are from the Culturegrams database and are links to the history of these countries. This is importnat information to help understand the colonozation and decolonization history of your leader's country. If the information is helpful, it can be used as one of your sources.
Student Learning Goals
Students will:
- Learn about their topic
- Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources
- Explore databases
- Search effectively
- Assess the usefulness of each source
- Avoid plagiarism
- Follow a standard format for citation
Print Resources
-
Library CatalogSearch the catalog for books on your topic.