Disability Justice (visible disabilities)
- Crip CampDocumentary Film
- Disability Rights TimelineSIRS Issues Article (database)
- The Mother of Disability RightsSirs Issues Article (database)
- Disability Rights Curated PageCurated page of resources from Gale U.S. History in Context (database)
Disability Visibility (Adapted for Young Adults) by Call Number: 305.9 DISISBN: 9780593381670Publication Date: 2021-10-26Available for checkout in the NN Library.
Demystifying Disability by Call Number: 305.9 LADISBN: 9781984858979Publication Date: 2021-09-07Available for checkout in the NN Library.
Educational Justice (pushouts, dropouts, discipline, prison pipelines)
- School to Prison Pipelines / The New Jim CrowBook Chapter. The book is available to borrow from the NN Library.
Pushout by Call Number: 371.82 MORISBN: 9781620973424Publication Date: 2018-01-16Available for checkout in the NN Library.
Environmental Justice (around the world)
- Environmental justice at work: From New Jersey water to Indonesian airChristian Science Monitor article (database)
- The movement to address environmental racism is growing. This bill could provide the data it needsCanadian Broadcasting System (database)
Intersectional Justice (coalition building across race, class, gender, orientation, ability, etc.)
Disability Justice (invisible disabilities)
- Invisible DisabilitiesGale U.S. History in Context article (database)
- Invisible Disabilities ProjectInvisible Disability Project (IDP) is a social/cultural movement and an educational media project that consciously disrupts “invisibility” imposed upon unseen disabilities at the intersections of race, class, gender, and sexuality. We are devoted to building human connections and self-advocacy by dismantling shame and stigma. IDP effects change through public conversations and interactive online content with the goal of creating an informed, mutually supportive community.
- Engage with us and don't assume ability.USA Today article (database)
Residential Justice (how neighborhoods got to be “good” or “bad”)
Race for Profit by Call Number: 363.51 TAYISBN: 9781469653662Publication Date: 2019-10-21Available for checkout in the NN Library.
The South Side by Call Number: CH 305.8 MOOISBN: 9781250118332Publication Date: 2017-04-04Available for checkout in the NN Library.
Environmental Justice (Chicago region)
- Stop shifting polluters around and develop an environmental justice planChicago Tribune viewpoint (database)
- Activists respond to lack of disciplinary action after botched smokestack implosionChicago Tribune article (database)
- Little Village Environmental Justice OrganizationLVEJO was founded in 1994 by public school parents who learned about the potential exposure of their children to dangerous particles during school renovations at Joseph E. Gary Elementary. After forcing the school administration to change their plans, these parents turned their attention to other issues of environmental justice in Little Village.
- People for Community RecoveryPeople for Community Recovery's mission is to enhance the quality of life of residents living in communities affected by environmental pollution.
We advocate, educate, and organize on community-identified priorities including environmental and climate justice, safe and affordable housing, economic equity and community health.
Gender Justice (unlearning harmful beliefs and assumptions)
- Gender Justice and Women's RightsOxfam International Website
- What is Gender Justice?Global Fund for Women Website
Racial Justice (white people reckoning with white supremacy)
Educational Justice (testing, tracking, and traumatization)
- Making Black Lives Matter at School: The national movement has four key demands to eliminate racism in educationThe Progessive article (database)
- Choice Is the Enemy of JusticeNew York Times article (database)
Black Lives Matter at School by Call Number: 371.82 BLAISBN: 9781642592702Publication Date: 2020-12-08Available for checkout in the NN Library.
Residential Justice (gentrification vs. better options)
How to Kill a City by Call Number: 307.33 MOSISBN: 9781568585239Publication Date: 2017-03-07Available for checkout in the NN Library.
- The New York Highway That Racism Built: 'It Does Nothing but Pollute'The Guardian article (database)
- Housing Gap Only Widens As Costs RiseNew York Times article (database)