Of Mice and Men Annotated Bibliography: COVID Edition: Directions

Learning Target: Students will create an annotated bibliography using online databases and a web-based citation maker.

Information Literacy Skills
Students will:

• Navigate a Libguide

• Find reputable articles on migrant farmers / workers-Determine what makes a source reliable

• Cite a source using Noodle Tools

• Create a short Annotated Bibliography via Noodle Tools

• Submit the final Annotated Bibliography to Canvas

1. Log into your NTHS Google account. Log into NoodleTools through the button found within the Google Apps Universal Navigation Bar (from your NTHS Google Mail). Start a new project - title it "OMAM Annotated Bibliography" (See NoodleTools Tutorial Video in the box to the right)

2. Access the Gale U.S. History in Context database through the link in the Database box on the left. Sign in with your D219 credentials. In the search bar, search on these three key words: migrant, farmers, California. Find the article with the title: "Migratory Workers" by Kathy Mapes from the Encyclopedia of the Great Depression.  (See Database Tutorial)

3. Export the citation for the article to your NoodleTools project. Read the entire article and add the annotation to the citation. If you have to leave your citation at any time, make sure you save the changes by clicking the Submit button. You can always edit your citation by clicking on the Options link on the right side. (See Exporting a Citation tp NoodleTools Video)

1. Use the U.S. History in Context Database to find an additional two articles on Migrant Farm Workers (avoid selecting the first result. It is not always the best). Export the citations to NoodleTools. Read the articles. Add annotations for each article.

2. Your completed assignment should be an annotated bibliography of three sources. Please look at the sample annotated bibliography in the column to the left of this box.

1. Once you have all three citations and annotations in your project you can export your document to Google Docs. Click on the "Print/Export" option in the upper left hand corner of the NoodleTools Page. Select Print/Export to GoogleDocs. The document will automatically open in GoogleDocs. (See Citation Export Video)
2. YOU MUST MAKE ONE CHANGE! The document will automatically be titled as a Works Cited page. You must change the title to Annotated Bibliography. Once you have made this change you can add your name and period to the top of the doc and submit it to Canvas. Do not change fonts or font sizes.