Databases A-Z
- Career Cruising This link opens in a new windowCareer planing and guidance service for all ages - Requires a unique login- please see a librarian or the college counselor
- CultureGrams This link opens in a new windowGeopolitical and cultural information on countries, U.S. states, and Canadian provinces
- Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new windowThree levels of encyclopedias plus extended web and periodical coverage
- First Search This link opens in a new windowMultiple databases from the state of IL, includes book catalog (OCLC)
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowArchive coverage for the Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender and Hartford Courant 1765 - 1984
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowComplete text of the most comprehensive dictionary of the English language
- Rosen Teen Health and Wellness This link opens in a new windowProvides middle and high school students with nonjudgmental, straightforward, standards-aligned, curricular and self-help support.
- Wilson Omnifile select This link opens in a new windowFull-text reference, periodical, and multimedia resources.
- World Geography (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new windowGeographical, political, social, economic, and cultural sources of information
Databases by Publisher
When accessing databases offsite please use your d219 or nths219 login. If you can not access the databases with your personal login, please sign in to your NTHS Google account and then use the following password document. If you have any problems with offsite use contact Ms. Zbinden in the library.
Databases by Gale
- Gale Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowReference, periodical, and multimedia biographical resources
- Gale General Reference Center This link opens in a new windowGeneral reference database that integrates a variety of sources (newspapers, magazines, books and trade publications)
- Gale Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new windowInternational viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics and current events
- Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new windowOne cross-searchable database for the following individual literary databases: Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Author's Online, Literature Criticism Online (Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism)
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowInformation on current social issues, including pro/con viewpoints
- Gale Professional Collection This link opens in a new windowFull-text journal articles for educators
- Gale in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events
- Gale U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on people, places, events, and topics in U.S. History
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowCollection of encyclopedias and reference materials (ebooks)
- Gale World History in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on people, events, and topics in World History
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowScholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowFind up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.