Goal: Working in small groups, students will utilize Internet and library resources to research their assigned or selected style. Past styles have included: Bachata, traditional Palestinian dance, Klesmer, Flamenco, Merengue, Salsa, West African, Bollywood, and others. Style choice for the unit may depend upon the makeup and background knowledge of students in the class.
Helpful Databases
-
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new windowThree levels of encyclopedias plus extended web and periodical coverage
-
Gale in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events
-
Gale Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowReference, periodical, and multimedia biographical resources
-
CultureGrams This link opens in a new windowGeopolitical and cultural information on countries, U.S. states, and Canadian provinces
-
Classroom Video On Demand This link opens in a new windowClassroom Video on Demand is a cross-curricular video collection that includes 26,800 titles and 217,352 segments.
-
Academic Video OnlineSearch on your dance and find short film clips.
Helpful Websites
-
Dance Performances: PBSVideo database of various dances
-
The Dance Center - Columbia CollegeVideo archives.
-
NPR: DanceArticles from NPR
-
Canadian National Arts CenterContains information on all types of dance. Includes video.
-
Jacob's Pillow Dance InteractiveView brief performance excerpts spanning from 1930s dance pioneers to today, recorded at the Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival.
