This is the "Databases" page of the "Science Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science Research  

Last Updated: Oct 2, 2015 URL: http://north.niles-hs.libguides.com/scienceresearch Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Using Key Words

 

Why Key Words Matter

Despite all the advances in web and database searching, computers still don't do well with meaning.

When you type a word into a search box, the computer looks only for the word you typed, not the concept you had in mind. To you, that word is an idea. To the computer, that word is a bunch of letters. 

So, the burden is on you, the researcher, to choose the best keywords with which to search. The keywords you choose have a direct and measurable effect on the results you get back. Even a small change in your keywords can lead to a big change in results.

Generating Key Words

The first step in thinking of keywords is to define your topic. You can't research or write about a topic if you can't articulate what it is! Try writing your topic down as a sentence or a question.

Think of keywords to describe each concept involved in your topic. Think of more than one, in case your first choice does not work. Focus on synonyms and related terms. What are other ways to state your topic? Is there a specific word that will describe an abstract concept in your topic?

Sample topic: Does the death penalty unfairly target minorities?

Concept 1: death penalty

Alternative Terms: capital punishment, execution

Concept 2: unfairly targeting minorities

Alternative Terms: discrimination, racism, prejudice

        Alternative Terms: African-American, Hispanic, ethnic groups

      

    So many books, so little time...

    • IRC Catakog
      If you'd like to see Niles North and Niles West collections, please change the location to "Niles Township High Schools District 219".

    Helpful Databases

    To access databases from home, simply enter your school login and you will have access to every database.

    Public Libraries

    • Skokie Public Library Database List
      Use your Skokie Public Library Card number to gain access to their databases off-site. Helpful databases for this project include:
      Science Online
      Article First
      LexisNexis
    • Morton Grove Public Library Database List
      Use your Morton Grove Public Library Card number to gain access to their databases off-site. Helpful databases for this project include:
      Science Online
      Papers First
      SIRS Researcher
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip