This is the "Resources" page of the "Romeo and Juliet Criticism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Romeo and Juliet Criticism  

Ms. Gillies
Last Updated: Mar 6, 2015 URL: http://north.niles-hs.libguides.com/romeo_and_juliet Print Guide RSS Updates

Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • Gale Literary Resources - "Artemis"
    One cross-searchable database for the following individual literary databases: Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Author's Online, Literature Criticism Online (Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism).
  • Gale Virtual Reference Center (GVRL)
    Collection of encyclopedias and reference materials (ebooks).
  • JSTOR
    Archive of core scholarly journals from many disciplines.

Romeo and Juliet Handbook

What is Literary Criticism?

The Oxford English Dictionary defines literary criticism as "the art or practice of judging and commenting on the qualities and character of a literary work; consideration or analysis of a text (cf. text n.1 1, text n.1 Additions) in relation to language, structure, biography, history, etc., or (in later use, freq. with modifying word) by a particular philosophical, political, or linguistic method; (also) an instance of this, esp. in a written form; a school or method of criticizing literature."

      

    Using Key Words

    Why Key Words Matter

    Despite all the advances in web and database searching, computers still don't do well with meaning.

    When you type a word into a search box, the computer looks only for the word you typed, not the concept you had in mind. To you, that word is an idea. To the computer, that word is a bunch of letters. 

    So, the burden is on you, the researcher, to choose the best keywords with which to search. The keywords you choose have a direct and measurable effect on the results you get back. Even a small change in your keywords can lead to a big change in results.

    Generating Key Words

    The first step in thinking of keywords is to define your topic. You can't research or write about a topic if you can't articulate what it is! Try writing your topic down as a sentence or a question.

    Think of keywords to describe each concept involved in your topic. Think of more than one, in case your first choice does not work. Focus on synonyms and related terms. What are other ways to state your topic? Is there a specific word that will describe an abstract concept in your topic?

        
       

      Print Resources

      • Niles North Catalog  
        Search for books available at Niles North. If you'd also like to check the catalog at Niles West, please make sure you change the location to "Niles Township HS District 219".
        Check out the following titles (and more) on reserve for your class.
      Cover Art
      Readings on "Romeo and Juliet" - Don Nardo (Editor)
      Call Number: 822.33 SHA
      ISBN: 1565106474
      Publication Date: 1997-06-01

      Cover Art
      Understanding Romeo and Juliet - Alan Hager
      Call Number: 822.33 HAG
      ISBN: 0313296162
      Publication Date: 1999-10-30

      Cover Art
      A Student's Guide to William Shakespeare - Walt Mittelstaedt
      Call Number: 822.33 MIT
      ISBN: 0766022846
      Publication Date: 2005-05-01

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip