Skip to Main Content

Illegal Immigration: Home

Databases

Accessing Databases from Home

If you are at home, click on the Niles North database link below, select the database you'd like to use, and enter your student login for access.

NILES NORTH IRC DATABASE PAGE

Citation Information

The databases on this Libguide will create citations for you. remember to look for a citation link when in the database. If you need additional help with this see Ms. Zbinden.

If you are accessing information from sources other than databases, use the following links for guidance.

Websites

Choose a Website Carefully

What does the URL (Web address) say about the web site?
.gov (Government Agency), .edu (College or university) .mil  (U.S. military)
.org, .net, .com (no restrictions, these domains can be purchased by anyone) 
~ (A "tilde" in a URL means this is a personal website)
The Four W's of Website Evaluation
Who?
Who created this website?
A Person? An Organization?
What does the URL (Web address) say about the creator of the web site?
.gov (Government Agency), .edu (College or university) .mil  (U.S. military)
.org, .net, .com (no restrictions, these domains can be purchased by anyone) 
~ (A "tilde" in a URL means this is a personal website)
Look for links to the author/sponsor
"About Me", "Home", "Background", "Bio"
If you can't find the home page, try deleting part of the URL.
http://animals.nationalgeographic.com/animals/mammals/wolf/
Conduct a link search to see if other reputable sources link to the website.
Use the link operator by typing link:URL
link:www.animals.nationalgeographic.com/animals/mammals/wolf/
Why?
Why was this website created?
Inform? (fact or opinion?)
Persuade? (other viewpoints?)
Entertain?
Sell a product or service?
What?
What information does the website provide?
Does the information appear to be accurate?
Are there sources or support for the information?
Is the information free of bias?
Is the website well-organized and easy to read?
When?
When was the information published?
Is the information up-to-date?

Does the information on your topic need to be current?

Books

Please look at the book cart for titles. The following books can be found on the book cart:

Life as an immigrant    

Call #: 304.82 TEI    Teichmann, Iris.

Immigration    

Call #: 304.87 IMM    Karen Miller, book editor.

Immigration in the United States    

Call #: 304.87 IMM    edited by William Dvorak.

 

Published 2009

Illegal immigration    

Call #: 304.87 MIL    Miller, Debra A.

New faces in new places : the changing geography of American immigration    

Call #: 304.87 NEW    Douglas S. Massey, editor.

The working poor : invisible in America    

Call #: 305.56 SHI    Shipler, David K., 1942-

Immigration and illegal aliens : burden or blessing?    

 

Call #: 323.6 BEC    Becker, Cynthia S. (Cynthia Simmelink)

America debates United States policy on immigration    

 

Call #: 325.73 AMB    Ambrosek, Renee.

Denied, detained, deported : stories from the dark side of American immigration    

 

Call #: 325.73 BAU    Bausum, Ann.

Illegal immigration    

  

Call #: 325.73 KEN    Kenney, Karen Latchana.

Immigration : rich diversity or social burden?    

Call #: 325.73 MOR    Morrow, Robert.

Latino Americans and immigration laws : crossing the border    

 

Call #: 342.73 HUN    Hunter, Miranda, 1977-

Immigration : this land is whose land?    

Call #: 342.73 PER    Perl, Lila.

Immigration and the law    

Call #: 342.73 TEI    Teichmann, Iris.

What rights should illegal immigrants have?    

Call #: 342.73 WHA    Lori Newman, book editor.

Dying to cross : the worst immigrant tragedy in American history    

Call #: 364.13 RAM    Ramos, Jorge, 1958-

Immigration narratives in young adult literature : crossing borders    

  

Call #: 810.9 BRO    Brown, Joanne, 1933-

Enrique's journey    

Call #: 921 ENR    Nazario, Sonia.

Forgotten continent : the battle for Latin America's soul    

Call #: 980.03 REI    Reid, Michael.

Immigration in America today : an encyclopedia    

Call #: R 304.87 IMM    edited by James Loucky, Jeanne Armstrong, and Larry J. Estrada.

American immigration : a student companion    

Call #: R 304.873 DAN    Daniels, Roger.

Race relations in America : a reference guide with primary documents    

Call #: R 305.8 DAV    Davis, Thomas J. (Thomas Joseph)

Illegal immigration : a reference handbook    

   

Call #: R 325.73 LEM    LeMay, Michael C., 1941-

Poverty in America    

 

Call #: R 362.5 REE    Reef, Catherine.

First crossing : stories about teen immigrants    

Call #: SC FIR    edited by Donald R. Gallo.