This is the "Home" page of the "Modern India" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Modern India  

Last Updated: Dec 17, 2012 URL: http://north.niles-hs.libguides.com/modernindia Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Your Assignment

You are an ambitious photo-journalist for National Geographic magazine. Because there are many stereotypes and misunderstandings regarding India, your editor has decided to devote the entire December on-line issue of the magazine to India.

Your assignment: Since you are eager to become known as one of the best photo-journalists around, you are submitting a proposal. Your editor has requested that the proposal focus on problems or issues facing Indians today, so your proposal must cover FOUR of the topics listed below. Your proposal must be submitted via Photo Story.


Topics (choose four)

political issues

caste system

education

border issues
border conflicts and india
kashmir and india
jammu and india

languages

women

poverty

technology
technology and india
indian outsourcing
india and outsourcing

population

child labor

Find information on IRC Databases


Your project must include at least 3 sources from IRC databases.
 
To access to these databases from home...
go to the IRC Database Page, click on the database then enter your school login for access. 

Find information from websites

 

Cite Your Sources

Your project must also include a complete bibliography with at least 3 sources from the IRC databases.
 
If your source is from a database
  • copy/paste the citation from the database article.

If your source is from a website

  • copy/paste the citation information on the sample citation below.
Author. “Title of the article.” Title of web site. Publisher of site, publication date. Web. Date of access. <URL>.

Note:

if no author, begin citation with title of article.

if no publisher or sponsor listed, use n.p.

If no publication date listed, use n.d.

don't list the URL if it is too long

 

Plan Your Photo Story

Plan your slideshow

Download this storyboard worksheet and use it to plan your slideshow. For each picture (slide), write narration and describe the image you would like to see on screen.
 

 

Create Your Photo Story

1. Create a folder
Create a folder on your V drive or J drive and give it a project name. 

Save your Photo Story file and all your images into this folder. If you don't save everything in a folder, your Photo Story will eventually corrupt! If you use a flash drive, copy the entire folder onto your flash drive.


2. Find images and save them (and your Photo Story file) in this folder

For sharp resolution, use medium size pictures. Both numbers in the pixel size should be close to 500.

 

 

Click here to download a colored slide (use a black slide to begin and end your slide show, and to create a title page).


3. Open Photo Story and begin 

From the welcome screen, select Begin a New Story.

Save your Photo Story file to your folder as soon as you upload your images. 

Photo Story is simple to use. There are only five screens, and each screen has instructions. If you need further help, here are step-by-step instructions:  Create a Photo Story
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip