This is the "Print / Database Resources" page of the "Middle East / North Africa Current Events" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Middle East / North Africa Current Events  

Last Updated: Feb 27, 2014 URL: http://north.niles-hs.libguides.com/middleeast Print Guide RSS Updates

Print / Database Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • CultureGrams
    Geopolitical and cultural information on countries, U.S. states, and Canadian provinces.
  • Global Issues in Context
    International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics and current events.
  • World Geography
    eographical, political, social, economic, and cultural sources of information.

Accessing Databases from Home

If you are at home, click on the Niles North database link below, select the database you'd like to use, and enter your student login for access.

NILES NORTH IRC DATABASE PAGE

      

    How to Cite a Database Article

    Most of the databases Niles North subscribes to will create the source citations for you. Look for the following tabs: Citation Tools, Generate Citation, Cite Now!, etc. Click on the tab and copy and paste the source citation into your Bibliography / Works Cited page. If you are using a database that does not cite for you, use a free online citation maker (Easybib, Knightcite).

        

      Middle East

      http://clubs.uci.edu/messi/images/middleeast.jpg

          

        Databases v. Websites

        Databases and eBooks: Authoritative Content from Respected Sources

        • Paid for by the library. (Think of them as premium cable channels.)
        • Cannot be easily searched in Google.
        • Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, etc.
        • Authority of information is verified by editors and publishers.

        Websites : Onus* Is on You to Verify the Content  

        • Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
        • Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often not verified by anyone.
        • Must examine with a critical eye. You need to spend time determining if content is correct.

        *Onus means responsibility. It's your responsibility to be sure the content is correct. It's a better use of your time to use the library databases, when possible.

            
           

          Print Resources

          NILES NORTH IRC CATALOG

          Look for the following books (and more) on the class cart.

          Cover Art
          Can Democracy Succeed in the Middle East? - Jann Einfeld (Editor)
          Call Number: 320.95 CAN
          ISBN: 9780737733938
          Publication Date: 2006-09-22

          Cover Art
          Muslim Women Reformers - Ida Lichter
          Call Number: 323.09 LIC
          ISBN: 9781591027164
          Publication Date: 2009-05-26

          Cover Art
          The Arab Uprisings - James L. Gelvin
          Call Number: 956.05 GEL
          ISBN: 9780199891771
          Publication Date: 2012-03-06

          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip