The Crucible - Fretzin: Day #1

1. Access the U.S. History in Context database through the Niles North IRC database page.

2. Search on the key words "Salem Witch Trials". Locate the focus article at the top of the page. Click on the "read more" link. Read the entire article. Generate the MLA citation for the article and copy the citation.

3. Log into your NTHS Google account - access your mail. Log into or create a new NoodleTools account through the button found within the Google Apps Universal Navigation Bar  (the grid in the top-left of the page). Start a new project - title it. Select +Create New Citation. Choose Database. Select the source type (Hint: it's a book!). Click on  Quick cite: Copy & paste a citation.  Paste your copied citation into the box provided. Submit to save. 

4. Read the entire article and add the annotation to the citation. If you have to leave your citation at any time, make sure you save the changes by clicking the Submit button. You can always edit your citation by clicking on the Options link on the right side.

you will have read one article, created one citation, and written one annotation. This must be completed by the start of Day #2. Whatever is missing from your bibliography at the end of class must be completed for homework tonight. You must also complete the questions on the Salem Witch Trials.

Learning Target: Students will create an annotated bibliography using online databases and a web-based citation maker.

Information Literacy Skills:
Students will:

• Learn to access information on multiple databases
• Learn how to construct an annotated bibliography
• Learn about reliable sources of information
• Learn how to construct citations
• Learn how to submit a document to Turnitin.com