IRC Catalog
We have many books on Chicago History, and one of the first things you should do is search our catalog for books on your topic. The Chicago History books are located in the CHICAGO HISTORY area near the Reference area.
You must get permission from your teacher to check out a book. Students from other classes are also doing this project. If you are using a book, place it on the "Chicago History Fair" cart, where it can remain for the duration of the project.
Can I Access IRC Databases from Home?
To access to IRC databases from home...
go to the IRC Database Page click on the database,
then enter your school login.
IRC Databases
General Reference Articles
Begin your research by finding background or overview articles on your topic (most are secondary sources, but some databases will have primary sources too).
- Biography in ContextBibliographic Information
- Gale U.S. History in ContextArticles from a variety of sources, including reference books, newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Gale General Reference CenterArticles from a variety of sources, including reference books, newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Gale Student Resource CenterArticles from a variety of sources, including reference books, newspapers, magazines and journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowIf you are looking for a greater challenge, use the JSTOR database to search for journal articles and primary source documents. Enter your subject into the search bar and browse the results.
Websites
- Second World War Day by DaySee links in green box and chronology of each day of the war.