Helpful Databases
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowCollection of encyclopedias and reference materials (ebooks)
- Gale Science in Context This link opens in a new windowScience In Context is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
- Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new windowThree levels of encyclopedias plus extended web and periodical coverage
- Gale U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on people, places, events, and topics in U.S. History
- Gale in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events
Ask a Librarian
Motor Skills Pre-Selected Database Articles
- Gross Motor SkillsThe Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
- Gross Motor SkillsThe World of Health
- Infant / Toddler DevelopmentEncyclopedia Britannica article
- Child DevelopmentGale Encyclopedia of Development
Theorists
Choose from the following theorists.
- James Gibson’s Ecological Theory of Perception
- Thelen’s Dynamic Systems Theory
- Piaget Cognitive Development Theory- Sensorimotor (substages)
- Erik Erikson’s Theory of Psychosocial Development - Trust vs. Mistrust or Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt.
Pre-Selected Articles
- James GibsonGale Encyclopedia of Psychology
- Piaget's Theory of Cognitive DevelopmentGale Encyclopedia of Psychology
- Erik EriksonGale Encyclopedia of Psychology
- Discovery of Motor Development: A Tribute To Esther ThelenJournal Article
- Minds on the MoveJSTOR Article
Esther Thelen