Helpful Databases for your Assignment
- Biography in ContextReference, periodical, and multimedia biographical resources.
- Gale U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on hundreds of people, events, and topics in U.S. History.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowCollection of encyclopedias and reference materials (ebooks)
How to Cite a Database Article
Most of the databases Niles North subscribes to will create the source citations for you. Look for the following tabs: Citation Tools, Generate Citation, Cite Now!, etc. Click on the tab and copy and paste the source citation into your Bibliography / Works Cited page. If you are using a database that does not cite for you, use a free online citation maker (Easybib, Knightcite).
Example of an Online Database Citation
Junge, Wolfgang, and Nathan Nelson. “Nature's Rotary Electromotors.” Science 29 Apr. 2005: 642-44. Science Online. Web. 5 Mar. 2009.
Questions to ask about any Information
Questions to ask about ANY information:
- Currency: How recent is the information, and when was it last updated?
- Organization: Is it easy to find the information you need?
- Accuracy: How reliable is the information, and are the facts accurate?
- Bibliography: How easy is the work to cite in a bibliography? Does it give you the author, title, publisher, and date?
- Unfamiliar Topics: How useful is it when you don’t know where to start?
- Languages: How easily can the work provide languages other than English?
Any source, whether a library database or website, can have good information. It is necessary to think critically about all information that you read or view.