IRC Databases
General Reference Articles
Begin your research by finding background or overview articles on your topic (most are secondary sources, but some databases will have primary sources too).
- Biography in ContextBibliographic Information
- Gale U.S. History in ContextArticles from a variety of sources, including reference books, newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Gale General Reference CenterArticles from a variety of sources, including reference books, newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Gale Student Resource CenterArticles from a variety of sources, including reference books, newspapers, magazines and journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowIf you are looking for a greater challenge, use the JSTOR database to search for journal articles and primary source documents. Enter your subject into the search bar and browse the results.
Can I Access IRC Databases from Home?
To access to IRC databases from home...
go to the IRC Database Page click on the database,
then enter your school login.
How to Cite a Database Article
Most of the databases Niles North subscribes to will create the source citations for you. Look for the following tabs: Citation Tools, Generate Citation, Cite Now!, etc. Click on the tab and copy and paste the source citation into your Bibliography / Works Cited page. If you are using a database that does not cite for you, use a free online citation maker (Easybib, Knightcite).
Example of an Online Database Citation
Junge, Wolfgang, and Nathan Nelson. “Nature's Rotary Electromotors.” Science 29 Apr. 2005: 642-44. Science Online. Web. 5 Mar. 2009.
