This is the "Print / Database Resources" page of the "Othello Background Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Othello Background Research  

Last Updated: May 2, 2014 URL: http://north.niles-hs.libguides.com/Othello_research Print Guide RSS Updates

Print / Database Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

Accessing Databases from Home

If you are at home, click on the Niles North database link below, select the database you'd like to use, and enter your student login for access.

NILES NORTH IRC DATABASE PAGE

      

    Topics

    Venice in the 16th Century, Cyprus, Moors, Turks and the Ottoman Empire, Renaissance, Recent Othello Productions, Epilepsy

        

      Using Key Words

      Why Key Words Matter

      Despite all the advances in web and database searching, computers still don't do well with meaning.

      When you type a word into a search box, the computer looks only for the word you typed, not the concept you had in mind. To you, that word is an idea. To the computer, that word is a bunch of letters. 

      So, the burden is on you, the researcher, to choose the best keywords with which to search. The keywords you choose have a direct and measurable effect on the results you get back. Even a small change in your keywords can lead to a big change in results.

      Generating Key Words

      The first step in thinking of keywords is to define your topic. You can't research or write about a topic if you can't articulate what it is! Try writing your topic down as a sentence or a question.

      Think of keywords to describe each concept involved in your topic. Think of more than one, in case your first choice does not work. Focus on synonyms and related terms. What are other ways to state your topic? Is there a specific word that will describe an abstract concept in your topic?

          
         

        Print Resources

        • Niles North Catalog  
          Search for books available at Niles North. If you'd also like to check the catalog at Niles West, please make sure you change the location to "Niles Township HS District 219".
          Check out the following titles (and more) on reserve for your class.
        Cover Art
        Understanding Othello - Faith Nostbakken
        Call Number: 822.33 NOS
        ISBN: 0313309868
        Publication Date: 2000-08-30

        Cover Art
        All Things Shakespeare - Kirstin Olsen
        Call Number: R 822.33 OLS
        ISBN: 0313315035
        Publication Date: 2002-10-30

        Cover Art
        A Student's Guide to William Shakespeare - Walt Mittelstaedt
        Call Number: 822.33 MIT
        ISBN: 0766022846
        Publication Date: 2005-05-01

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip