This is the "Resources" page of the "Alfred Hitchcock Research Paper" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alfred Hitchcock Research Paper  

Last Updated: Dec 3, 2014 URL: http://north.niles-hs.libguides.com/Hitchcock_Research_Paper Print Guide RSS Updates

Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • Gale Literary Resources - "Artemis"
    One cross-searchable database for the following individual literary databases: Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Author's Online, Literature Criticism Online (Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism).
  • Gale Virtual Reference Center (GVRL)
    Collection of encyclopedias and reference materials (ebooks).
  • JSTOR
    Archive of core scholarly journals from many disciplines.
  • Biography in Context
    Great database for author background information.
 

Book Sources

Check out the Hitchcock books - they make great resources!

Cover Art
Alfred Hitchcock - Gene Adair
Call Number: 921 HIT
ISBN: 0195119673
Publication Date: 2002-06-06

Cover Art
Hitchcock's Films Revisited - Robin Wood
Call Number: 791.43 WOO
ISBN: 0231126956
Publication Date: 2002-06-20

Cover Art
Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window - John Belton (Editor); Horton Andrew (Contribution by)
Call Number: 791.43 ALF
ISBN: 9780521564236
Publication Date: 1999-09-13

Literary Lenses

Historical Lens
Consider the historical context of the work. When was it written? When was it published? When does it take place? And ultimately, what additional meaning is brought to the work when you consider the historical context?
 
Biographical Lens
Consider the person who created the work. What sort of personal story does he or she have that may have influenced the creation of the work? Ultimately, what additional meaning is brought to the work when you consider the creator’s biographical information?
 
Marxist Lens
What role does social status play in this text? Who is benefitted by the outcomes in the text and who is hurt by them? Are the voices of those with less money stifled in the text, or are they heard? Ultimately, what additional meaning is brought to the work when you consider the economic status of the characters involved?
 
Feminist Lens
What role do women play in this work, either as characters in it or in the publication of it? Do female characters play traditional female roles? Are they
shown to enjoy those roles? Do female characters challenge any of the female roles and are they successful? Ultimately, what additional meaning is brought to the work when you consider the status of the women involved?
Psychoanalytical Lens
What are some of the desires, fears, needs, and conflicts of the author's subconscious? Are there issues of selective memory, displacement, denial, irrational fears that are shown in the work? Are there any characters in the work that may represent the author in some way?
      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip