Last Updated: Mar 18, 2015
Destitute pea pickers in California; Mother of seven children, 1936. FSA photograph by Dorothea Lange. Image from the National Archives.
The Great Depression
Call Number: 973.91 BUR
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
FDR's Alphabet Soup
Call Number: 973.91 BOL
Publication Date: 2010-01-12
Dust to Eat
Call Number: 973.91 COO
Publication Date: 2004-04-19
- The Great Depression Images
The photographs in the Farm Security Administration - Office of War Information Photograph Collection form an extensive pictorial record of American life between 1935 and 1944.
- The Great Depression
From The Library of Congress
- The New Deal Network - Columbia University
Sponsored by the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute (FERI), in collaboration with the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library, Marist College, and IBM, The New Deal Network (NDN) website has thousands of primary sources about the public works and arts projects of the New Deal. NDN is now based at the Institute for Learning Technologies (ILT) at Columbia University.
- PBS - 1930's
PBS program about "America’s response to the unprecedented economic crisis that threatened the nation during one of history’s most tumultuous decades." Website include some primary sources.
- PBS - The Dust Bowl
Information from American Experience - a PBS show. Chronicles the Dust Bowl through history, interviews, and images.
- FDR Cartoon Collection
Digital collection of over 30,000 political cartoons about FDR from newspapers and magazines published in the 1930s and 1940s.
- A New Deal for the Arts
An online exhibit from the National Archives about New Deal art.
- Eleanor Roosevelt Papers Project
A project of George Washington University, this website contains Eleanor Roosevelt's speeches, articles, letters, and "My Day" columns.
- Franklyn D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum
Run by the National Archives and Records Administration, the Roosevelt Library has a wide range of primary sources related to the New Deal.
- PBS - The Civilian Conservation Corps
PBS program about the "most popular New Deal programs, the CCC put three million young men to work in camps across America during the height of the Great Depression." Website includes some primary sources.
- The Living New Deal
A national database of thousands of documents, photographs, and personal stories about public works made possible by the New Deal. Collaboration between the California Historical Society and the Institute for Research on Labor and Employment at the University of California, Berkeley.