This is the "Home" page of the "2013 Abraham Lincoln Award Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

2013 Abraham Lincoln Award Books   Tags: 2013, abe books, abraham lincoln awards, award books, islma  

Use this guide to learn about the 2013 Abraham Lincoln Award books
Last Updated: Mar 21, 2012 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page


Welcome to the 2012-2013 Abe Books LibGuide.  Use this guide for more information about the nominated books, their authors, to view book trailers, and more!  Simply click on the tab above or the title to the right.  Don't forget: after you've read at least four books, you can vote for your favorite!  Just ask a librarian how when you're ready.


About Abe Awards

Abe Lincoln

The Abraham Lincoln Award is given each year to the author of the book voted by high school as most outstanding. The "Abe Awards" are designed to encourage high school students to read for personal satisfaction and become familiar with authors of young adult and adult books.

The award is named for Abraham Lincoln, one of Illinois' most famous residents and himself an avid reader and noted author. The award is sponsored by the Illinois School Library Media Association (ISLMA).

For more information and details on how you can be a part of the Abe Awards, visit


Created by

This guide was created as a supplement to the 2013 Abe Lincoln books for the students at Niles North High School.  I created this guide as a practicum student enrolled at GSLIS at University of Illinois.

Profile Image
Stephanie DeVincentis
Contact Info
Send Email

2012 Nominees

Anna & the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Bruiser by Neal Shusterman

The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Dark Song by Gail Giles

Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Imppossible by Nancy Werlin

Impulse by Ellen Hopkins

Leviathan by Scott Westerfield

Little Brother by Cory Doctorow

Lockdown: Escape from Furnace by Alexander Gordon Smith

Matched by Allyson Braithwaite Condie

Monstrumologist by Richard Yancey

North of Beautiful by Justuina Chen Headley

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

Rikers High by Paul Volponi

Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

War by Sebastian Junger

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Leviathan

Click here to see past nominees


Loading  Loading...